Youre browsing as normal, when all of a sudden you see an urgent pop up flashing an alarming warning that your computer has been infected with a virus. The good news is these alerts are almost always fake: they sometimes occur when websites have been compromised and send notifications to make you think your computer is infected. But if you fall for this, you may actually download malware. Cybersecurity researchers call these tactics scareware, because they induce a state of panic for those on...

Read the full article at Engadget